Project Backups

Tahsim Ahmed
Tahsim Ahmed
  • Updated

Create a Backup of Your Assistant on Voiceflow

Backups let you save an official snapshot of your assistant at a chosen point in time. You can use backups to document an assistant's life cycle so you can view or revert to it later.

Keep track of changes you've made to your files with backup history. This is a powerful and important feature to keep in mind, as you are developing and deploying your conversations in live and/or production environments.

Screen Shot 2023-12-04 at 8.03.28 AM.png

To create a version, use the keyboard shortcut Shift + ⌘ + S (Shift + Ctrl + S on Windows). Enter your version name and hit Save.

When prompted to create a New Version, you will have the option to give your new version a name.

Note: Once a new version is named, configured & created, please give a few seconds for the confirmation notification 'Saved new version'  + [Your Version Name] to appear.

How to View, Manage, Rollback and Restore a Backup

To view and manage your assistant's backups, click Settings in the left sidebar or by inputting keyboard numerical shortcut (4) on the main canvas screen, and navigate to Backups.

When you access the Backups tab, you’ll see:

• Backup History - A list of all your assistant's historic backups

• Date - date it was created

• User - which collaborator/user from your workspace managed that version

Screen Shot 2023-12-04 at 8.08.09 AM.png

At the last column of each version's respective row, you can navigate to the (...) icon to have access to the Version management features of Preview and Restore for the production/deployed version management and status toggling.

Screen Shot 2023-12-04 at 8.08.21 AM.png

Preview a backup

Hit Preview (under the above menu) to view the specified backup’s content in a new tab (on browser) or window (via the Desktop App).

Delete a backup

Select Delete to remove the backup from your history. This action can NOT be undone.

Download a backup

Select Download to receive a project export (.vf) of your assistant content that can be imported on the dashboard to create a new assistant.

Restore a backup

If you want to roll back to a backup, click the Restore option in the above menu. 

Note: This action can NOT be undone. Make sure you’ve previewed the version and confirmed this sequence, and are expecting overwriting of your recent version(s)/change(s) before reverting.

When you restore a backup, Voiceflow creates a new automatic backup of the current designer state. Once confirmed, Voiceflow will send a pop-up notification: 'Backup successfully restored' and refresh the tool with the new loaded version.

 

Was this article helpful?

5 out of 5 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.