Environments

Tahsim Ahmed
Tahsim Ahmed
  • Updated

Environments provide a well-organized space to manage the development and production versions of your project. This guide will walk you through how to effectively use the Environments feature to streamline your development process.

Accessing Environments

To access the Environments feature:

  1. Navigate to the Settings tab in your assistant.
  2. Click on the 'Environments' tab.Screen Shot 2023-12-04 at 8.25.31 AM.png

Understanding the Environments Table

The Environments table displays your current workspaces:

  • Development: This is your sandbox, where you can test new features, debug, and make changes without affecting the live version.
  • Production: Once you've published your project, the production environment will appear here. This is the live version that is accessible to users.

Working with Environments

Development Environment

  • You can use the development environment to build and test new features.
  • Changes made here do not affect your live project.
  • Once you are satisfied with the changes, you can publish them to make them live.

Production Environment

  • This environment reflects the live version of your project.
  • It should only be updated with fully tested and stable versions from the development environment.
  • The production environment is what your end-users interact with when you use the `production` version alias

Transitioning Between Environments

To promote a version from development to production:

  1. Ensure that all new features and fixes have been thoroughly tested in the development environment.
  2. Follow your internal procedures for deployment, which might involve a review process or automated scripts.
  3. Once deployed, monitor the production environment for any unexpected behaviors.

Best Practices

  • Keep a clear log of changes and updates made in the development environment to track what needs to be published using backups.
  • Only push thoroughly tested and reviewed changes to the production environment to maintain the integrity of the live project.

Legacy Versions

The Legacy Versions table is where you'll find all past versions of your project that used to be in the now outdated versions table. Every version listed here can be accessed and managed using its specific versionID. It's important to remember that once you convert a version into a backup, you won't be able to access it with code anymore. Screen Shot 2023-12-04 at 9.15.41 AM.png

Working with Legacy Versions

Options Available

  • Convert to Backup: This allows you to archive the version as a backup, which will allow you to Preview, Restore or Download the legacy version. 
  • Delete: This permanently removes the version from the list, which should be used when you are certain that you no longer need that version.

Conversion to Backup Process

  1. Click on the '...' (Options) next to the version you want to convert.
  2. Select 'Convert to Backup'.
    1. You will be prompted with a confirmation modal to ensure that you want to proceed, as this action is irreversible and you will know longer be able to access this version via the `versionID`.

Deleting a Legacy Version

  1. Click on the '...' (Options) next to the version you wish to delete.
  2. Select 'Delete'.
  3. A confirmation modal will appear to confirm your decision.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.